Tags

, ,

20120223-210638.jpg

20120223-210738.jpg

The last time I had French onion soup was in Paris, on a trip with my awesome sister ๐Ÿ™‚

I remember it arriving in front of me in a small soup bowl, steaming and with bubbled, brown cheese encrusting the top of the bread. Below the bread was the HOT soup, flavour filled and delicious.

So, I was very excited when this recipe appeared for FFwD, a chance to make it myself.

We don’t own individual soup bowls (yet, but they’re on our wedding registry!), so I made the soup in one large casserole dish and we just dished up from there.

We loved it, though I may have slipped a little with the white pepper and so, in addition to being HOT, our soup was rather peppery! Whoops. Sorry lovely fiancรฉ ๐Ÿ˜‰

It was also a bit too steamy for the middle of a humid, hot summer…but come winter it will definitely be back on our menu.

Link through to the FFwD website to see what my fellow cooks have been up to and for the recipe you’ll need to get a copy of Dorie Greenspan’s book Around My French Table.

X

