So I skipped last week’s FFwD because it was a delicious sounding cake and we were on “diet”, but this week I’m back and finally back on my blog, I have missed it!  Life is still feeling a little crazy and I don’t actually think we’ve been cooking any interesting food, at least I don’t feel like we have 😦 Until this week…a little help from Dorie and we had some delicious potatoes to go with succulent, pan fried chicken breasts and veggies and then much thanks to my lovely fiance for finding an awesome recipe for a chicken tagine, which got me back on the cooking horse!  Now, I’m back to wanting to cook everything, all the time!  Will hopefully blog the tagine soon, it was out of this world and so much fun to make 🙂

Back to potatoes, we were amazed by how much character cooking the potatoes in the broth gave them.  And I was super chuffed at how quick and easy it was.  I think we’ll be using this often in the future to jazz up potatoes.

Dorie comments in the book that she feels they go well with white meats and I can certainly agree that they were great compliment for our chicken.  I’m not sure about the suggestion for reducing the broth after removing the potatoes – I felt that the flavour was then too overpowering and preferred the subtleness in the potatoes themselves.  But that’s just me…

I have to say that Around My French Table is fast becoming my favourite recipe book – love everything about it, from the layout, to the recipes, to the writing.  I finally received my copy of Baking With Julia, also by Dorie Greenspan, and I have to admit that it is not calling my name so loudly yet, it doesn’t have quite the same feel for me – though it does seem to be a wealth of information. Still excited for the start of that challenge though – Tuesdays with Dorie here we come 🙂

The recipe can be found on p. 358 of Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table.

