20120112-201557.jpg

The finished product

Aah, it’s been a crazy week! One week since my first FFwD post (bubble-top brioche) and one week since my wonderful boyfriend popped THE question and became my wonderful fiancé! No one tells you how crazy life gets just after an engagement – well I can tell you it’s hectic. Then add to that starting a new job this week…and I think I can be forgiven for my slackness in blogging this week, that, and the fact that I haven’t actually eaten at home this week – until this chicken dish on Thursday night.

The recipe on this weeks French Fridays with Dorie schedule is M. Jacques’ armagnac chicken – a chicken done in a casserole dish with onions, carrots and potatoes and critically, the armagnac. Or in my case – whatever whisky my fiancé will let me have my hands on 😉 Somehow, I don’t think it’s going to be the Johnny Blue…

On reading the recipe it looks pretty easy – just throw it all in a casserole dish and leave it to cook for an hour. Fan-freaking-tastic! This week, easy is my friend. Actually, there were a few other steps, which I might have ignored…we were in a little bit of a rush, friends had a little baby girl today and visiting hours were right around dinner time, so I might have skipped some steps to make it a case of just throwing it all in the dish!

20120112-201546.jpg

In the oven we go

And it was – easy – and delicious! The chicken was super succulent and the veg was soaked in the flavourful whisky juices, mixed with the aroma from the fresh herbs. Try it, it’s too easy not to.

The recipe can be found on p. 204 of Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table.

