Tags

, , ,

20111211-072030.jpg

Blueberries and crunchies - snacking at work!

Crunchies are nostalgic. For boyfriend and I happy childhood memories go hand in hand with thoughts of crunchies. Both of our moms used to make crunchies and we’re both big fans.

More than once since my domestication started he has mentioned these crunchy, oat and coconut biscuits made with butter, sugar and Golden syrup. So I have been sitting with them in the back of my mind for a while. I’m also loving the tradition of Christmas baking (though our waistlines are not!) and I’m really keen to bake lots of tasty goodness in the lead up to the holidays.

I think, perhaps, on looking for a recipe, that crunchies are very South African. Recipes I found on other sites and blogs and in recipe books were for a very different biscuit. Who knew!

Thankfully I found a recipe on the Drizzle and Drip blog and a lovely post about her crunchie memories and her grandmother.

Her recipe claims to be legend and she is not kidding – they worked out perfectly!

The one thing about crunchies is that everyone has their preference – either super crunchy or a little gooey in the middle. Now, I’m not fussy, I think each type of crunchy has its place – sometimes its the crunch and sometimes that soft, chewiness that I’m after.

Our batch worked out rather well – I had inadvertently managed to squoosh the mixture down unevenly – leaving us with some very crunchy crunchies and some softer ones. Unexpected bonus!

Another thing is that the recipe seems to be very forgiving – I made a bit of a hash up when I added sugar to the flour instead of to the butter. Oops.  Have you ever tried to separate flour and sugar?! Not even sieving worked very well. Thankfully, it seems to have made little difference – I just separated as best I could and carried on.

Recipe
(adapted from Drizzle and Drip)
Ingredients

  • 2 c Oats
  • 1 c Coconut
  • 1 c Flour
  • 230 g Butter
  • 1 c Brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp Golden syrup
  • 1 tsp Bicarbonate of soda

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 180 °C. Prepare a baking tray.
  2. Mix together the flour, oats and coconut in a bowl.
  3. On the stove top melt the butter and then add the sugar and syrup. Heat until the butter is bubbling.
  4. Add the bicarbonate of soda to the butter, stir through and remove from heat. Watch out for this step, the bicarbonate makes the butter bubble up suddenly and you need to make sure your pot is big enough to accommodate this!
  5. Add the butter mixture to the dry ingredients and mix together.
  6. Put the mixture into the tray and press down until it all comes together in a solid layer. Using the back of a spoon for this works best.
  7. Pop into the oven and bake for 15 minutes at 180 °C, then turn the oven down to 160 °C and bake for a further 5 minutes or until golden brown.
  8. Cool in the pan before slicing.

Store them in an airtight container and they will last for weeks – if you can keep your hands off them! Enjoy!

My mom also used to cover them in chocolate icing on occasion – just a simple icing sugar, cocoa and water icing. She would just pour this over before slicing. My chocolate addiction loves this version too 😉

