Tags

,

Banana muffins and a cup of tea...happiness šŸ™‚

A few weeks ago we travelled up to the edge of Mpumalanga via Zululand for an engagement party – I don’t recall ever having travelled that direction before, so I was pretty excited. I do love a road trip šŸ˜‰

Unfortunately it was pouring with rain for most of the journey, but it finally cleared up after a couple of tense hours in the pouring rain. And, how lush and green everything looked up in the hills of Zululand – it was so pretty.

Anyhoo…the point of that story is that on our way home we stopped at one of the fruit markets, where the locals sell a huge range of fruit. Of course, it is all individual stalls, all selling the same fruit, at pretty much the same price and so the moment you drive in you are accosted and surrounded by women shouting at you to buy their produce! We headed for the quietest woman and proceeded to buy from her…much to the disgust of the masses around us.

We bought some avocado pears, which were a little past their best by the time we ate them, and a bunch of bananas. The only trouble is that all the fruit sits out in the sun all day and I think ripens really quickly as a result – so in a matter of maybe 2 days our beautiful bananas were black, squishy and growing mould! Sigh…

Of course, my Dad has always said that the best bananas to use for banana bread are over ripe ones and so I set to work hunting down a recipe…the folks are having their kitchen redone and so setting my Mom the task of trying to find her recipe was a little mean given that everything has been moved and packed away while they are without kitchen cupboards! She found me a recipe, but it wasn’t the one from my childhood…I had also in the meantime found one that looked easy enough and so off I went to mash the already practically mashed bananas just a little more.

We made jumbo sized muffins, no dainty little muffins for us – they were delicious for breakfast or just as a snack. They were wonderfully moist, with that lovely stickiness that is unique to banana-ry baked goods and they smelled heavenly šŸ™‚

I’ll make them again, and I’ll try it out as a loaf recipe – it may well become the banana bread recipe we go to every time, unless my Mum can find hers once their pretty kitchen is completed šŸ˜‰

Here’s the recipe, maybe you’ll like it enough for it to become your one and only banana muffin recipe too! I may add some nuts next time… X

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 4 large bananas, mashed – make sure they’re ridiculously ripe, it’s just better that way!
  • 1/2 c sugar – I used brown sugar cos it’s what I had and it gave them a lovely hint of caramel
  • 1 slightly beaten egg
  • 1/3 c butter, melted
  • 1 tsp baking soda }
  • 1 tsp baking powder } Can anyone tell me why a recipe would have both baking soda and baking powder? Novice baker here!
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/2 c flour

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 Ā°C.
  2. Mix banana, sugar, egg and butter together.
  3. In another bowl mix the baking soda, baking powder, salt and flour.
  4. Mix everything together.
  5. Pour into muffin pans and bake at 180 Ā°C for 20 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.

Enjoy with a cup of tea…mmm šŸ™‚

