Tags

, , , ,

20111205-142431.jpg

The remains of our frittata - sorry we couldn't wait to eat it!

I’ve wanted to make a frittata for a long time and finally, after finding myself with a surplus of eggs and no clue what to make for dinner, it dawned on me that it had to be a frittata.  After reading a few recipes it became clear that what I needed was a frying pan that could function on the stove top, as well as in the oven.  Now you might say this isn’t really necessary, and you’d probably be right, BUT, considering I have been obsessed with making an apple tarte tatin of late (for which one needs a dual functioning pan), this was like the excuse I’d been waiting for  – to buy one wouldn’t be completely unreasonable!

I know…I can convince myself of anything 🙂  The next trick was to find one at a reasonable price (the very thing that had put me off buying one just for a tarte tatin) – they are all ludicrously expensive, brand name products – do normal people not want such items?!  I had searched the dreaded mall for ages (and not for the first time) when I “figuratively” stumbled across one – and it was cheap…and it was on sale, so even cheaper!  Guilt be gone 🙂

It’s red, it’s little and it’s perfect for frittata…and, I think, for tarte tatin too.  Not that I’ve actually gotten round to trying that yet…very hard to want to cook delicious things all the time and to want to lose weight ;-(

Anyway, back to the frittata…

The general idea seems to be to cook up a whole lot of whatever you like in a pan, beat up a lot of eggs and pour them over, cook it on the stove top until the edges have become firm and then whack it in the oven to brown the top.

I used up whatever veg we had in the fridge (lots of people use a frittata to clean out the fridge!) and added some chorizo sausage…it was so easy and a really tasty supper, served with a simple salad.

I don’t have an official recipe…but basically I fried up some red onions, sliced potatoes, zuchinnis and chorizo, added some salt and pepper and some origanum in the red pan.  Then I lightly beat about 6 eggs, seasoned and poured over the fry up in the pan.  I cooked it on the stove top on a medium heat (no mixing or stirring or anything) and then once the edges were firm I popped it in the oven until the top was nicely browned.

Now, the idea is that you should be able to take the frittata out of the pan, but I think that given the fact that my new cast iron pan is not properly sealed yet it is not so non-stick, so our frittata stuck…but maybe next time 🙂

Frittata is definitely an awesome way to use up left overs and empty out the fridge.

X

