Tags

,

Happy New Year people!  Wow, 2012 already – I think it’s going to be a goodie :-) I have so many things to post – lots of Christmas recipes, lots of things I’ve been trying out since Christmas using all my awesome pressies and lots of tastilicious things we’ve cooked up while we’re on holiday!

One of my Christmas presents from my sister was the wonderful recipe book, Relish by Sonia Cabano, which I have been looking at longingly for a few months in the bookstore. It is a book full of beautiful photos and recipes of sauces, seasonings, relishes, preserves and much more. Something that I really love about it is the fact that it is written by a South African, which makes the content so much more relevant and the ingredients easier to find!

I’ve been itching to create something from the book since she gave it to me, which was our early Christmas, so it’s been a while! A couple of nights ago, after a day of babalas, brought on by our having spent the previous day at the cricket Test match in Durban, I decided we needed a meat and three veg kind of a meal to get us back on track and to provide some much needed comfort to the sore heads. Steak, mashed potatoes, steamed zucchini and butternut – some kind of perfection.

But, because this is me we’re talking about, I also wanted to try making something new and exciting…hence the reach for the Relish recipe book and the discovery of the Red Onion Marmalade recipe. The marmalade is said to accompany steak very well, as well as pork, smoked chicken and cheese (I can vouch for the latter, having had cheese and marmalade on toast for breakfast a few times since!).

It was super easy to make and worked, I think, perfectly. I am consistently amazed every time I have some by how, despite the onions being sliced extremely thinly and being cooked for half an hour, they remain crunchy. Crunchy, and sweet and tangy, and good.

Even better, they can be stored in a sterilized jar in a cool, dark place for up to 2 months – I can think of a few people who will be recieiving foodie gifts of red onion marmalade this year. Once open the need to be kept in the fridge…and to be honest, mine have been sitting in the fridge, in a regular plastic container since I made them – so far they have lasted a week and counting.

I added a little something extra to ours – a few paprika peppers, we had spotted them in the store and since they’re not something we see often we pounced on them. Red onion marmalade seemed like a good partnership for them and it was.

Recipe

(Adapted from Relish)

Ingredients

  • 300 g red onions, thinly sliced
  • 3 paprika peppers, thinly sliced
  • 22 ml olive oil
  • 2 ml salt
  • 38 g brown sugar
  • 28 ml red wine vinegar
  • 4 ml dried thyme

Directions

  1. Cook the paprika and red onions in the oil over a medium heat until soft and translucent. Keep stirring them for about 30 minutes, but don’t let them brown.
  2. 20120102-185124.jpg

    Thinly sliced red onions and paprika - love the colour!

  3. Add the other ingredients to the onion and paprika and stir, if you have residual liquid in your pan at this stage, simmer until thick and the liquid has essentially evaporated.
    20120102-185139.jpg
    -Addition of the red wine vinegar enhances the amazing redness of the onions and makes them look so rich (‘scuse the sideways pic!)
  4. Serve with your chosen meat or cheese, etc. Store in the fridge or in sterilized airtight jar in the cupboard, until opened.
20120102-185153.jpg

A close up attempt to show the colour and shininess

Easy peasy, enjoy x

